Walsall FIS offers up-to-date information,
advice and help on services for families in Walsall.

What is the EYFS?

The EYFS is the statutory framework all registered providers must work to, to provide children in their care with the best learning and development opportunities.

A simpler framework came into force in September 2012. The frame work covers 7 key areas of development.

The prime areas of learning are:

  • Communication and language

  • Physical development

  • Personal, social and emotional development

The specific areas of learning are:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the world

  • Expressive arts and design.

The framework helps ensure that children receive the same level of care, development and early education, as well as helping them be ready for school.

As a registered provider, all the care you offer must be underpinned by the EYFS.


Finding out more

We would recommend that you speak to your Improvement Officer about the EYFS (if you are not sure how, please visit the Improvement Team page). You can also find out more on the Foundation Years website and you can access lots of other information and guidance by visiting the Government’s website .

Key resources are available to download from our EYFS Resources page.  We also offer  training relating to the EYFS. You can find details by going to our Courses page.